Date/Time by Timezone
Wed, Jul 31st, 2019 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Jul 31st, 2019 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Jul 31st, 2019 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Jul 31st, 2019 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM PT

Register

Force options are different than force standards, but both are important. Correctional officers must be trained about Force Standards (Fourth, Eighth, and Fourteenth Amendments) so they know how their force will be evaluated in civil trials. Force options play a critical role in what force strategies are selected and used in each situation. John G. Peters, Jr., Ph.D. will explain the impact of the Unites States Supreme Court holding in Kingsley v. Hendrickson. Dr. Peters was the expert witness for the correctional deputies in the original trial and the second trial after the case was remanded by the Supreme Court.

PRESENTER: JOHN G. PETERS, JR., Ph.D., CTC, CLS

John G. Peters, Jr., Ph.D., CTC., CLS serves as president, and chief learning officer of the Henderson, Nevada-based Institute for the Prevention of In-Custody Deaths, Inc.  A former law enforcement administrator, deputy sheriff, and police officer, Dr. Peters has been conducting law enforcement training across the globe since 1979. John was also a member of the United States Secret Service Defensive Tactics Advisory Panel.