Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Feb 11th, 2020 3:00 PM – 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Feb 11th, 2020 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Feb 11th, 2020 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Feb 11th, 2020 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM PT

Register

In the more than 500 counties that have joined the national Stepping Up initiative, sheriffs play an integral role in collaborating with county leadership and other community partners to implement policies, practices, and programs that support their efforts to reduce the number of people with mental illnesses in jails while ensuring community safety. Stepping Up and the National Sheriffs’ Association are co-hosting a webinar to outline the benefits to sheriffs of engaging in the initiative and to share concrete ideas on how sheriffs can help lead this work in their counties. Participants will hear from national experts and fellow sheriffs from communities of varying sizes about their work and the impact it has had in their communities and departments.

** This webinar has been certified by the National Sheriffs’ Association and may be eligible for Continuing Education Units through your POST. Please consult your local certification processes for additional details. Paid subscribers that attend will be able to download a jointly issued attendance certificate that includes the National Sheriffs’ Association logo.

PRESENTER

Carrie Hill is an attorney and national criminal justice consultant.  She has dedicated her 29-year career to providing professional development seminars in correctional law, along with criminal justice consulting, to educate and empower those working in the correctional industry.

Ms. Hill’s passion for and expertise of corrections law is known nationally. She makes the law come alive and applicable regardless of rank – from report writing techniques and legal-based policy development to risk assessment and offensive approaches in the event of prisoner litigation.

Ms. Hill’s contributions to corrections go beyond professional development to consulting for and defense of correctional facilities, management and staff.  She is also the former General Counsel to the Utah Department of Corrections, Editor of Corrections Managers’ Report and most recently, the Senior Administrative Manager to Sheriff Richard Stanek in Hennepin County, MN.

Ms. Hill accepted a new role in June 2017 with the National Sheriffs’ Association as the Director of the National Center for Jail Operations (NCJO).