Date/Time by Timezone
Thu, Oct 10th, 2019 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM ET
Thu, Oct 10th, 2019 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM CT
Thu, Oct 10th, 2019 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM MT
Thu, Oct 10th, 2019 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM PT

Register

Mentally ill people are over-represented in the criminal justice system.  Law enforcement officers and jail staff must deal regularly with people who have schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, depression, PTSD, and other mental illnesses.

Webinar participants will learn the history, nature, and extent of the issue of mentally ill people in the criminal justice system.

During this webinar, we will discuss:

  •  A brief overview of mental illness diagnoses and the experiences of mentally ill people.
  • The extent and basic issues of mentally ill people involved in the criminal justice system.
  • The history of mentally ill people involved in the criminal justice system.
  • Best practices for interacting with mentally ill people.

PRESENTER: DR. DAN PHILLIPS

Dr. Phillips is the Regional Coordinator for Faculty Development and an instructor of Sociology and Criminal Justice at Campbellsville University in Harrodsburg, Kentucky.  Dan has conducted workshops at the National Sheriffs Association and the American Jail Association. He has published in Corrections TodayAmerican Jails, and Sheriff and Deputy magazine about mental health, suicide and jail chaplains.  Dan has also provided in-service training for police officers on these same issues.  He has edited 2 books: Mental Health Issues in the Criminal Justice System and Probation and Parole: Current Issues.  In 2018, he co-authored an article in Sheriff and Deputy magazine entitled, “Partners in Prayer: 10 Issues for Jails and Religious Ministries to Consider to Ensure Success.”