Date/Time by Timezone
Thu, May 16th, 2019 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM ET
Thu, May 16th, 2019 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM CT
Thu, May 16th, 2019 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM MT
Thu, May 16th, 2019 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM PT

Register

The firearms debate and issues of public safety firearms regulation and the Second Amendment are going to continue in the public policy spotlight. In this course, we are going to discuss who is prohibited under federal law from possession of firearms under current law so those involved in its enforcement and policymakers have a better understanding what current law does or does not do. Topics include:

  • Who is banned from possession of firearms under federal law
  • Domestic violence and firearms laws
  • The impact of state laws on federal firearms possession

PRESENTER: RICHARD HODSDON

Richard Hodsdon has been an attorney for more than 40 years and for his entire career has been involved in civil and criminal matters concerning corrections, criminal prosecution and law enforcement operations. He has over 30 years of experience dealing with management and personnel issues including employment law. Rick currently is an assistant county attorney in Stillwater, MN where his duties include representation of the county and criminal justice agencies. He has trained thousands of government staff on civil litigation, criminal law and personnel issues. Rick has also served as counsel to the Minnesota Sheriffs Association for over 30 years.