Date/Time by Timezone
Wed, Dec 12th, 2018 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Dec 12th, 2018 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Dec 12th, 2018 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Dec 12th, 2018 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM PT

Register

This is the most contemporary, scientifically- and evidence-based program on excited delirium and agitated chaotic events (ACE) you can attend! Learn how to identify and how to respond to these medical emergencies when they occur in your correctional setting.

Excited delirium events have been around for a long time. Although not a medical or psychological diagnosis, the term can be found in early 1800s medical treatises and in many contemporary medical and scientific articles. There are 4 broad evidence-based categorical causes of excited delirium behavior; often only drug-induced behaviors are discussed and taught. In addition to excited delirium behavioral cues select agitated chaotic events (ACE) are also identified, discussed, and taught to assist you and your agency in managing and minimizing liability. ACE events include, but are not limited to alcohol withdrawal, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), epilepsy (SUDEP), and similar events. These events may result in an in-custody death.

In-custody deaths refer to the sudden, unexpected death of an individual who is in housed in your correctional setting. Many times, electronic control weapons (ECW) are associated with these deaths. This program discusses the role and scientific research about ECDs, and highlights the strengths and weaknesses of ECDs being associated with such deaths.

It is not a matter of “if” you or your jail setting will experience an in-custody death involving a person who is in a state of excited delirium or agitated chaotic state, but “when” it will occur. Be prepared. This webinar will help you to save lives, including your own, and possibly your career.