Enhancing Resiliency of Staff and Inmate Populations

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Apr 9th, 2020 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM ET
Thu, Apr 9th, 2020 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM CT
Thu, Apr 9th, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM MT
Thu, Apr 9th, 2020 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM PT

Register

As the nation grapples with the COVID-19 pandemic, the virus is making its way into correctional facilities, threatening not only the physical, but also the emotional health of staff and inmates alike. During this public health crisis, identifying the specific vulnerabilities of correctional facilities and the people within them is critical. Presenters will discuss the psychological impact of pandemics on special populations within correctional systems. Attention will be paid to those with Serious Mental Illness, Substance Use Disorders, the aging population, and the often-overlooked individual with no diagnosed mental illness, struggling with rational fear and anxiety responses to the pandemic. Attendees will leave with an understanding of the impact of stress and trauma on these special populations, along with tools to help most effectively provide care and custody within the correctional setting.

This is part of a 2-Part Series on Corrections and Covid-19: